Chips and cards for poker in hand on green table Chips and cards for poker in hand on green table

WSOP Announces Finalists for 2019 Poker Hall of Fame

With the 2019 World Series of Poker in full swing, the WSOP has announced today the ten finalists being considered for induction into the WSOP-owned Poker Hall of Fame (PHOF).

The release of this year’s finalist list follows several weeks of public nominations to determine the most popular poker figures to be considered, followed by a brief vetting by the PHOF’s Executive Committee to ensure the nominees meet the published criteria for induction.

This year’s list of ten finalists includes only one first-timer, Antonio Esfandiari, and in a shift from previous years, all ten finalists are known virtually solely for their playing expertise. Esfandiari, the newest face, has done some color commentary on poker broadcasts, but he remains most well-known for his triumph in the inaugural WSOP Big One for One Drop event, which featured a $1 million buy-in and a record-setting $18.346 million first-place prize.

Esfandiari is joined by nine other veteran pros for induction consideration. In alphabetical order, the other finalists are Chris Bjorin, David Chiu, Eli Elezra, Chris Ferguson, Ted Forrest, Mike Matusow, Chris Moneymaker, David Oppenheim, and Huckleberry Seed. All nine have been a finalist at least once in previous years.

From here, the process moves on to the Poker Hall of Fame’s Election Committee, which is comprised of 30 living Hall of Famers and a 21-person panel of poker-industry media members. They’ll vote over the next two weeks, wth each committee member having a bloc of ten votes that can be distributed among one or several finalists.

The process is designed to enshrine two honorees in most years; last year, John “Johnny World” Hennigan and Mori Eskandani received the nod. This year’s enshrinees will join the 56 people who have previously received the PHOF honor since its inception back in 1979.

The following remain the criteria for induction consideration:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

The 2019 Class of the Poker Hall of Fame will be inducted as part of the World Series of Poker Main Event final table festivities in Las Vegas July 15 during the ESPN telecast. Voters have until July 8 to return their ballots, giving the PHOF a few days to tabulate the results and announce the winner.


Leave a Comment



filter by

by Haley Hintze

Haley Hintze
17th November 2019 // Industry, News

Shareholders Approve Eldorado-Caesars Tie-up

The acquisition by Eldorado Resorts, inc. and Caesars Entertainment Corporation (CEC), the parent company of the World Series of Poker, has cleared another hurdle with the near-unanimous approval of the ...

Dan Katz

16th November 2019 // News, Online Poker Action

PokerStars Pennsylvania Announces First PACOOP Tournament Series

PokerStars is wasting no time letting players in Pennsylvania that they are, in fact, playing on PokerStars. Just a...

Haley Hintze

15th November 2019 // Legal News, Misc, News

Florida Man Charged With Murder in Revenge for Poker Losses

A Pasco County, Florida man, Michael Joseph Psilakis Jr., has been charged with murder after the discovery of a...

Haley Hintze

14th November 2019 // News, Poker Tournaments

WSOP Expands 2019 International Circuit Schedule

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) has expanded the schedule for its ongoing 2019 International Circuit season by...

Haley Hintze

10th November 2019 // Legal News, Misc, News

Michael Borovetz Pleads Guilty in Poker-Funding Michigan Airport Scam Case

Pennsylvania poker player Michael Borovetz has pled guilty in a Michigan courtroom to a single count of theft by false...

Haley Hintze

10th November 2019 // Industry, Misc, News

Betclic Completes Withdrawal of Everest Poker Brand From UK Market

Betclic has completed its withdrawal of its venerable Everest Poker brand from the United Kingdom’s online-poker...

Dan Katz

10th November 2019 // Gossip, Misc, News, Poker Tournaments

Daniel Negreanu Wants to Make Changes to the WSOP POY Calculations

The World Series of Poker Player of the Year race has been in the news a lot in the past week and for good reason....